Prologue: Nebuchadnezzar’s Key

“Why do you stare up at the stars Kycilia?”
“Because the stars are doors to the universe Nebu”

The darkness enshrouds the city from the eyes of the Heavens that gaze down upon it. Mist slowly rolling from alley to alley looking for its victim quickly covers up the differences between the gravel and dirt. Screams in the distance drown out the crying behind me. Kylicia leaving a trail of tears and blood for Lucifer to catch us already surrenders the hand at play, for our demise is not to distant if we are to tread the waters of Golgotha. I quickly make a right turn and then a left, pushing Kycilia past her limits, but we come to a steady halt as my eyes lay upon the key to all answers. A gold so bright that it illuminates the alley as if the sun itself spiraled down to Earth to breathe a new life into humanity. The light blinds me for a minute, bringing me to daydream of when mother would walk me through the Gardens of Babylon when I was but a child. “Mother, why do the trees and flowers grow differently from the ones at home?” “Nebu, this garden is magical. Your grandmother once told me a story of how your grandfather Ashurnasirpal was gifted with the power of life by Jesus himself. It is said that he was a kind man who always put other people first, ultimately sacrificing his own true happiness to help others regardless of the situation. One day he dreamed and Jesus spoke to him of birth and life, teaching him the ways of the ancients of Gaia, blessing him with the power to birth health as long he bore a son to pass the power down to. Your father was taught the ways and soon you will too. Nebu, these trees and flowers…..” Her voice fades as I am taken back to the situation at hand. Lucifer stands before me with the key in hand along with Kycilia, or what is left of her. Her eyes and tongue hang from her skull as her limbs lay upon the floor, blood flowing down the cobblestone steps like the Nile river during the summer season. Rage in my eyes, I whisper the words “dog si ni sih nevaeh, lla si thgir htiw eht dlrow.”

“Why do you stare up at the stars Kycilia?”
“Because the stars are doors to the universe Nebu”

The darkness enshrouds the city from the eyes of the Heavens that gaze down upon it. Mist slowly rolling from alley to alley looking for its victim quickly covers up the differences between the gravel and dirt. Screams in the distance drown out the crying behind me. Kylicia leaving a trail of tears and blood for Lucifer to catch us already surrenders the hand at play, for our demise is not to distant if we are to tread the waters of Golgotha. “Have I seen this before? Kycilia, do not move. Something is not right. I have seen this outcome in another life. We will take another route.” I make a left turn towards the Temple and remember the chamber of Solace that father brought me to once as a child. “A weapon for when the day comes son, for Revelation may soon be upon us. It is the Key of Nebuchadnezzar, the weapon of the ancients, and your birthright.” I enter the Temple and sit Kycilia down near the wall of angels hoping to calm her down, telling her that everything will be okay, knowing myself that THAT is a lie for evil and destruction chases us. What did humanity do to earn a seat in Golgotha? Where have we gone wrong? How did we deflect from our purpose? From God’s purpose? Are we not divine anymore? Entering the chamber, I search and find the key. My so called birth right, shining in my eyes. A glow that cannot be reproduced. A shining so divine, the gold illuminating the room as bright as the day I witnessed Kycilia’s birth by mother. The same day mother also died. “Lord save us.” I hear a scream and run to Kycilia’s aide but it is too late, blood flowing down the temple floors out into the steps of the street. Limbs gently gliding down the red liquid, a body no longer recognizable. My sister dead before eyes. Rage in my eyes, I whisper the words “dog si ni sih nevaeh, lla si thgir htiw eht dlrow.”

“Why do you stare up at the stars Kycilia?”
“Because the stars are doors to the universe Nebu”

The darkness enshrouds the city from the eyes of the Heavens that gaze down upon it. Mist slowly rolling from alley to alley looking for its victim quickly covers up the differences between the gravel and dirt. Screams in the distance drown out the crying behind me. Kylicia leaving a trail of tears and blood for Lucifer to catch us already surrenders the hand at play, for our demise is not to distant if we are to tread the waters of Golgotha. “Kycilia, don’t move. I have seen your death twice. Why can we not escape this fate?” “Break the seal Nebu, take the blade and the ring. Port us to the key.” I do not falter. I quickly break the amulet of Anubis and chant the psalm of Osidis. Finally the blade of Seti spaws with the ring infused into the handle. We port to the key but find Lucifer waiting for our arrival. I push Kycilia aside and find my blade caught against the edges of his claws, as sharp as the tooth of Gnashar. I deflect and push away against his body, letting the wind catch me, swinging me around to his blindside hoping to get an advantage but he quickly ducks and swoops to my side, delivering the kick of Satan himself, knocking me through the temple walls and the walls of the library. I stand and realize that my left arm is detached, somehow getting blown off when I hit the first wall. Blood everywhere but all I can think about is Kycilia being alone. I quickly catch my breathe and rush through the debris, swinging the blade of Seti so fierce, I pierce Lucifers skin, only realizing that I achieve some hope while stabbing my dear kin through the heart. “Kycilia…why can I not escape this fate?”

Lucifer: “Because man was not meant to escape its purpose child. Humans were created as a game to thrive, but their own curiosity has granted them a destruction that soon comes. I merely come to claim my prize. Thank your creator. He IS in his Heaven.”

Nebu: “dog si ni sih nevaeh, lla si thgir htiw eht dlrow.”

“Why do you stare up at the stars Kycilia?”
“Because the stars are doors to the universe Nebu. It is Heaven. Do you not want to explore Heaven?”
“No. God is in Heaven. All is right with the world.”

 

Leave a Reply

